The TLE Seal Program requires demonstration of adherence to 25 specific requirements categorized into 5 practice areas:


Leadership Practice: manage and collaborate with stakeholders regarding the use and governance of student data to inform instruction


Business Practice: establish acquisition vetting processes and contracts that, at a minimum, address applicable compliance laws while supporting innovation


Data Security Practice: perform regular audits of data privacy and security practices and publicly detail these measures


Professional Development Practice: require school staff to conduct privacy and security training and offer the instruction to all stakeholders


Classroom Practice: Implement educational procedures and processes to ensure transparency while advancing curricular goals

Founding Districts

28 school districts from around the country were involved in the development of the Seal:

Arlington Public Schools (VA)

Athens City Schools (AL)

Blue Valley USD 229 (KS)

Boulder Valley School District (CO)

Calcasieu Parish Public Schools (LA)

Cambridge Public Schools (MA)

Central Valley School District (NY)

Dayton Public Schools (OH)

Denver Public Schools (CO)

Dysart Unified School District (AZ)

Escambia County School District (FL)

Geneva Community Unit School District 304 (IL)

Gwinnett County Public Schools (GA)

Houston Independent School District (TX)

Huntington County Community School Corporation (IN)

Jefferson County Public Schools (CO)

Judson Independent School District (TX)

LaGrange Elementary School District 102 (IL)

Merrimack School District (NH)

Metro Nashville Public Schools (TN)

Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township (IN)

Northshore School District (WA)

Raytown Quality Schools (MO)

Saint Ignatius High School (OH)

Smithfield Public Schools (RI)

The Hill School (PA)

University of Chicago Charter School (IL)

York County School Division (VA)